diary of a she-beast
i am the anti-christ. no, wait. just tired.

Fucking Standardized Tests. Chafes my nipples raw, they do.



Thursday May 30, 2007 @ 11:19 p.m. ::

Music: �Bring My Family Back�, Faithless
Mood: contemplative

So to prepare for the LSATs I�m taking an online course from the Princeton Review. One of the first things they do is to give you a prep-LSAT � I suppose to diagnose where you need the most work.

I scored 149.

This isn�t bad in itself. I mean, other than the couple of chapters in the LSAT for Dummies (which I�ve since disavowed), I went into this test cold. The average score for the LSAT is just over 150.

This means I�m in the ball park for an average result on the LSAT.

This, however, isn�t good enough.

Optimally, I need to get between 165-170 to really put myself in the running when it comes to my application. (I want to get into a law school in the city and a high score will be the difference between me staying in Ontario and me going to, say, Cousin Mel�s ABA-Approved Law School in Winnipeg.)

I�m aiming for just over 170 to be on the really safe side.

(Can you tell being rejected from grad school has made me uber-paranoid about my law school applications?)

However, to get a score like that, I�m going to have to sit my ass down and study like there�s no tomorrow.

I still haven�t decided if I�m still going to sit the test in June or if I�m going to wait until September. (Which isn�t that convenient either as I�m planning to spend most of September in France.)

You see, I�ve already committed to taking the test twice � my scores will be averaged between the two � once either in June or September and then again in December. It�s just a matter of when I take my first test.

As it stands, I�m going to work my ass off and then sit the bloody test in June. If I completely fuck it up I can always cancel my scores. And, if there�s no way in hell I�ll be ready to sit (and do well) on the June date, I�ll reschedule for September (it�s the end of the month so I�ll be back from abroad.*)

* But really, how much studying will I be doing on my trip? On the other hand, taking one day a week for the next four months or so would probably do me more good than cramming everything into before the test on June 11th. *le sigh*