diary of a she-beast
i am the anti-christ. no, wait. just tired.

All the News that's Fit to Print



Saturday February 17, 2007 @ 6:16 p.m. ::

Music: Law and Order: SVU is on the USA Network
Mood: amused

Okay, so if you�ve not been living under a rock for the last nine days you've heard that Anna Nicole Smith died on February 8, 2007.*

Ever since all I�ve seen on the news channels (I have six of them on my hotel room TV) is about her death, the legal problems, the will, the cause of death. Ad nauseum.

This morning as I was channel surfing (I was waiting for my breakfast to be sent up), and on one of these news channels they posted a poll asking if there�s been too much coverage. Not surprisingly, people said that there had been.

No shit.

All they�ve been doing for the last nine days is repeating the same information over and over again. You�ve had witnesses, her friends, her lawyers, legal experts, Danny Banaduce (The hell? Other than being an addict what the fuck does Danny Bonaduce have to do with this?), the guy who did the autopsy, and the list goes on and on and on. I mean, just stop. Go back to reporting it when there's something new to report.

That being said, could someone also tell me why Britney Spears shaving her head is newsworthy?

* I have to say that felt for the woman when she lost her son. No matter what the train wreck of her life was, you could tell that his loss really fucked her up. (Understandably so.) Now I feel for that poor baby. Imagine having people battle over you because you might inherit a multi-million dollar (somewhere in the hundred millions, if I recall correctly) fortune.

When it was announced that she had died, my first thought was that it was her boyfriend did it. (At the time there had been rumours � were they ever confirmed? � that the boyfriend had given the son the drugs that killed him. I speculated that the boyfriend killed Anna Nicole, before she discovered this, so he wouldn�t lose his meal ticket.)