diary of a she-beast
i am the anti-christ. no, wait. just tired.

Blogging from my Hotel Room (finally!)



Wednesday February 14, 2007 @ 6:22 p.m. ::

Music: streaming lounge off of di.fm
Mood: exhausted

We took off from Toronto to get to Chicago an hour late. We get to Chicago and my connecting flight to Albuquerque? Yep, you guessed it, CANCELLED. So I stand in the Customer Service line for two hours only to get diverted to Denver. And then from Denver to Albuquerque. Okay, fine. I fucking hate to fly in good weather, never mind flying out in a BLIZZARD, so they bump me up to first class. Get on the plane. Am surrounded by pilots � which for some reason made me feel better � flying home. And then we sit on the tarmac � first to de-ice, which I�m perfectly okay with � and then because there was a long line of planes wanting to take off. We were sitting out there for almost two hours.

Get to Denver, late. Missed my connecting flight to Albuquerque by five minutes. Yes, five minutes. We landed at 9:00 � the time of my flight � so I flew off the plane praying that there was a delay. Nope. They had already left. Fuck. So I stand in another customer service line � this time for an hour and a half � and they reschedule my flight for this morning at 11am, give me a hotel voucher, and send me on my merry way. I ask about my luggage and the not-so-helpful woman behind the counter said that it was still checked and that I�d get it in Albuquerque tomorrow.

Took a shuttle to the skuzziest fucking Holiday Inn. Ever. Get there, check in, get a dirty room. I finally get my room changed (this time it�s clean but still fucking skuzzy) and work on my paper. The best thing I have to say about that hotel room was that the beds were comfy.

I get to the airport this morning, work on my paper, and try to get another upgrade (no can do) since they�ve bumped me down from the first-class they bumped me up to. Arrive in Albuquerque. Went to get my bag and I discover that it is in Chicago. (But don�t worry, apparently they�ll deliver it to my hotel tonight. If not? Heads. Rolling. Disembowelment. Oh, shiny!) Fuck. By this point my paper�s pretty much in the bag but I�m so fucking tired that I say, �Screw it!� and just sleep the entire afternoon.

Only, no. I run into my panel chair as soon as I walk into the hotel. Fucknuts. I whip out the paper and only do one edit on it (in record time by the by) � which it needed but it was still a train wreck when I presented it. Apparently that went well but I was too fucking exhausted to even care. Somehow I have an appointment for drinks tonight with some professor to discuss femmeslash and yuri as a cultural phenomenon. (I know little about either, thanks.) Couple of drinks, a little discussion, and then I�m marching off to bed. Alone.

Oh, did I mention that the warmish weather (sweatshirt weather) that we�re supposed to be getting here is in fact, snow and cold?

However, I�m ordering Papa Johns� for dinner and my hotel room is gorgeous. In other words, all is not lost.

Fuck you, Windows Update needing to restart my computer. I�m NOT in the mood for your shit.

Oh, and it's Valentine's Day. Fuck you, Cupid. I'm not in the mood.