diary of a she-beast
i am the anti-christ. no, wait. just tired.

Miscellaneous Miscellany



Monday April 2, 2007 @ 11:15 p.m. ::

Music: �The Moment I Said It�, Imogen Heap
Mood: doin� okay, gotta whole lotta milka

Memphis was fabulous! Terry Pratchett is an absolute fucking doll! Graceland was a quasi-spiritual experience. (Mostly it felt like some pop culture pilgrimage.)

Oh, and if someone ever tries to convince me that 15 hours in a car is a good idea please remind me of the Hell on Earth it actually is. Okay, I exaggerate a bit. I didn�t dump any bodies in Kentucky and I have to admit that being absolutely fucking tweaked on bad truck-stop coffee, good McDonald�s coffee (with plenty of cream and sugar), as well as caffeine and ephedrine pills while driving some weird-arsed fucking Kentucky interstate at night � with Nine Inch Nails blasting on the stereo � is pretty exhilarating. (And just a wee bit scary because I was so fucking twitchy and, I guess the best way to describe it is, absolutely fucking stoned.) It�s just a long fucking time to be in a car. But, I suspect, with the right people it would be a blast to do.

There is a caveat to that, however. No matter how much you love someone being in such close quarters with anyone will make you a raging bitch. I don�t know if it�s just because I�m naturally solitary � I like being with people but I definitely need my alone time, too � or if it�s just human nature. But long-term cohabitation in very close quarters definitely necessitates some alone-time.

I have some fantastic news: I�ve been promoted! How fucking cool is that? In other news, the thesis is still in a holding pattern outside the outer marker but since I have an extra year until law school it�s not as fucking pressing as it has been.

Yes, I�m getting excited about law school, even if I have to fucking sit the LSATs. (Totally boned!) It�s mostly the prospect of getting some money that�s getting me all hot and bothered (rather than any actual desire to remedy societal ills through the practice of law � as indicated by my desire to practice a kind of law that will get me the most money for the least effort). Yes, this makes me incredibly shallow. But, hey, a girl can�t wait around for her sugar daddy forever. Sometimes she�s gotta take things into her own hands.

Oh, and next Tuesday I'm having surgery. Wish me luck!*

* No, it�s nothing serious. No, it�s not something I�m especially excited about having done. Yes, it�s more to head-off future problems than to rectify anything that�s wrong right now. (Especially since the last time when, I was coming out of the anaesthetic, I woke up being unable to breathe. But my anaesthesiologist knows about this and will (hopefully) do something to make sure this doesn�t happen again.)